July is…

Welcome to July, the month that tries to kill us all with her sweltering heat!  This month helps raise awareness for a variety of illness and causes, including:

Cord Blood Awareness Month
International Group B Strep Throat Awareness Month
Juvenile Arthritis Awareness Month
National Cleft & Craniofacial Awareness & Prevention Month
World Hepatitis Day (July 28)
National Ice Cream Month
Minority Mental Health Awareness
And lots and lots of other things!

I’m not gonna lie, dolls, while I make my effort to raise awareness and support for these issues, all of which are very important, I’m also going to make sure that I celebrate Ice Cream and Pickle Month as often and heartily as possible!

Before I get to to the book list, I want to share a quick story about something that happened recently.  A young man was being horribly bullied at school because he looked a little different due to Craniofacial abnormalities.  Now, I don’t personally know this boy, but through one of my nieces (he’s her cousin), I’ve seen him grow up.  I’ve heard stories of the kind of young man he’s turning out to be.  And he does not deserve to be treated badly or differently at all.  He is a young man who goes out of his way to help people.  He is kind, smart, a loving son to his mother, and a wonderful friend and family member on all accounts.  Why does this continue?  In a world where we now know better, where we understand the ramifications of bullying and cruelty, how do so many still think it’s okay to treat others so harshly?  Education is key!  While it’s easy to find information now, some still don’t know where to look, or how to start.  Well, that’s where I come in with my book list!  It may not be much help, and my list is far from exhaustive, but I do it in the hopes that maybe, someday, at least ONE person will find something that helps.  That maybe ONE person will be able to use it as at least a stepping stone to enlightenment.  Just.  One.  Person.

Love y’all!

Val

♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥

During my book search, I found this list.  There is NO WAY I could hope to do better than they did, so I shall refer you them for a list of books featuring characters with Craniofacial and Cleft issues.  It has kids books, book for teens and young adults, and it is quite beautiful.  You can find it here:  http://bit.ly/1oPWh1Y

Next subject: Minority Mental Health Awareness

 

 

This one is a very touchy subject, and it was hard going through the books and trying to find the right ones.  I cried.  My sister lost a sweet boy at about a month old, and we both took it very hard.  I wasn’t sure whether I should looks for books on this subject, but then I realized that I really wish I had had something, ANYTHING, to give my dear sister to help her get through it.  Maybe one of these would have helped.

 

Last group of books!  To end on a lighter note: PICKLES AND ICE CREAM!!  Have a wonderful summer, everyone!

 

 

Save

Save

Posted by

Book lover, SAHM

Leave a Reply

