Miles Stroter bringing Real Life HBCU Life to the Reel Screen of HBCU on The Quad

By Juquinthe Norman

Miles Stroter is one of the stars of the new hit BET show The Quad. He plays Junior, a lovable football player & BoJohn’s roommate at Georgia A&M University.

“It’s funny how the universe works. I finished playing football at Morehouse in 2010, and went on and played in the AFL for 5 weeks, before I decided to stop playing ball to pursue my acting career. Best decision I’ve ever made!” said  Stroter.

Miles what drew you into acting & to play Junior on The Quad?

Acting kinda drew to me; I kept getting these random acting opportunities while pursuing a professional football career. So I decided to take it serious and god just keeps opening doors.

 One of my good friends who plays “Vernon” on the show “Jock Mckisic” gave me a call and told me he had booked this new pilot and they were looking for more cast members, so I sent in an audition and I got a call with the offer for the role of “Junior” the very next day.

 How are you similar & not similar to Junior on The Quad? If you could give Junior any advice what would it be?

Junior and I are both amazing friends, we both are very loyal and we both are very comical. We differ is our background; Junior is a country kid from Little Rock Arkansas and I’m from the South Side of Chicago.

Do you play football in real life & what it is like to film the show at Morehouse College a real HBCU in Georgia?

I actually attended Morehouse College, so the whole experience was super surreal! It’s funny how the universe works. I finished playing football at Morehouse in 2010, and went on and played in the AFL for 5 weeks, before I decided to stop playing ball to pursue my acting career. Best decision I’ve ever made! 

 Do you have any advice for inspiring actors who want to get into the business?

 Definitely, to all my aspiring actors out there, stay true to you, and don’t do anything that will compromise your integrity to come up, don’t expect any hand outs or put ons, and to trust/enjoy your process. Everyone’s journey is different! 

  What is your dream role?

My dream roles are to play Paul Robeson and Marcus Garvey and Yogi Bear! 

I love the bromance between roommates & teammates Junior and Bo John have in the show. I really that love Junior had Bo John’s back when you see Bo John’s father attack him in their dorm room. Are you & Jake Allyn close in real life?

 Since we started filming Jake has become my brother, I think our styles compliment one another pretty well, as you can see on camera.

What has been your favorite storyline this season?

 My favorite storyline is Cedric and Bryce’s storyline, because I’m from Chicago and I think Peyton Alex Smith does an amazing job, but also their dynamic shows the socio-economic differences in how someone from the inner city of Chicago reacts to situations as opposed to “Blueblood” who had a middle class up bringing. Their storyline reminds me of my time at Morehouse College. 

 Is there a character you wish Junior could interact with and/or a storyline you would like to see for Junior in season 2 if the show is renewed for a Season 2? 

  I want my character to interact with Dr. Fletcher a little more, Anika Noni Rose is so dynamic I think we’d have some powerful scenes. 

When the show gets picked up for a 2nd Season I would like to see Junior go to Texas with Bojohn and experience his culture. I think that story line would be hilarious, Jake and I would kill that! 

I love that show tackles social issues such as racism, sexism, child abuse college campus rape, gun violence, & socioeconomic inequality. What do you think of the show tackling social issues in full force?

 I love the amazing job that our producers and writers are doing with tackling real issues that everyone can relate to. Everyone knows someone affected by racial injustices, sexual abuse, gender biases, bullying and classism; in this aspect The Quad is a major success!

 We saw that Junior & BoJohn are on the outs at the moment since their experiment on gender differences with Tiesha back fired? Will we see BoJohn, Junior, & Tiesha reconcile? 

 You have to tune in to the season finale to see if we reconcile our differences, I’ll just say that sometimes families and friends have disagreements but in the end love conquers all! 

 The trailer looks amazing for the season 1 finale of The Quad. Any scoop you give on the season 1 finale Miles? 

Just know that the season 1 finale will be a doozie!!! 

You hear that ladies & gentlemen get ready for the season finale to leave you wanting more! The Quad season 1 finale airs Wednesday, March 29th at 10pm EST on BET.

 

 

Save

Save

Save

Save

Posted by

I'm a freelance journalist who has covered a number of topics including celebrity news, pets, food and pop culture. I currently cover entertainment news for Talk Nerdy With Us and various topics for 2 Palms Media under their Hot Pop Titles!

9 thoughts on “Miles Stroter bringing Real Life HBCU Life to the Reel Screen of HBCU on The Quad

  1. This is a very insightful interview! Lots of great questions, and equally great answers. I encourage you to do more interviews. The interview was very refreshing, and I feel like people are going to want to see more. I hope the show gets renewed, and I hope this interview will draw in more fans too the show. I’m excited too see what’s next.

    1. We will!! Thanks Nikole so much! We hope the show gets renewed too! Miles and the rest of the cast are great! We promise there will be more interviews! Thanks so much for the love! xx

    2. Thanks so much Nikole. I appreciate it. I’m glad you like the interview. I hope The Quad gets renewed too. Miles and whole the cast are great. I hope the interview draws more fans to Miles and the show and cast. Yes more interviews will be coming soon. Thanks so much love. 💖 xxxx

  2. After reading this interview I cannot wait to start binge watching this show! I loved the questions you asked and would love to read more interviews from you. Miles sounds so sweet! I’m glad we got to read some “behind the scenes” from Junior 😁

    1. Thank you very much Dana. I’m glad you like the interview. I hope you have fun binge watching The Quad. Yes more interviews will be coming soon. Yes I’m also glad more people get to know more about Miles and his character Junior. xxxx 💖

  3. Watching Miles play Junior on television is surreal. He is a straight natural. It’s also great to see him get more action. His character brings a comedic relief to a show that has seems with real life drama and hardship. I can not wait for the second season!

  4. Watching Miles play Junior on The Quad is surreal. He is a natural. It’s also great to see him get more action as the show progresses. His character brings a comedic relief to a show that displays real life drama and hardship. I can not wait for the second season!

    1. Thank you I agree. Yes I hope The Quad gets a 2nd season too. I love Miles plays Junior so well. I love how sweet & funny his character is too. Thanks for the love. xxxx ❤

Leave a Reply

