Shell’s Favorite Things

By Michele Villery

Raindrops and rainbows and nail polish and body washes,  argan oil and facial scrub are beautiful additions!

Hot rollers and thermal protectant and perfume is a must.  These are a few of Shell’s favorite things…

Ok,  that sucked.  If you were attempting to sing the song,  I hope you got the drift. 😉

Let’s get real here.  Since  work from home,  a lot of my time is spent makeup free.  In fact,  I’m writing this post in my pjs that have a coffee stain on them from this morning. The only time I wear makeup is when I go on errands or spend it with friends and family to avoid looking like one of the walkers from “The Walking Dead”.

It’s now a treat and to be honest, I love makeup and skin care! Which is a little known fact about me.

One of my favorite memories and traditions was spending time with my mom getting my hair and nails done.   It was how we bonded and she loves the fact that not only can women be smart and strong, but believes to this day,  that there is nothing that a little nail polish, a good book, and lipstick can’t fix.  (My mom is a southern chick through and through)

She instilled in me that  a great beauty care routine regardless of how often you get to wear makeup or not is essential.

So, what are some of the things I use?   I’ll be honest, this is only  some of them.   And before I go any further, I will say and I’m not being paid to endorse any of these products.   They work for me and have kept this mid 40’s skin in top condition for the last decade. I use these nearly every day and I swear by them.

What’s even better,  you can buy them at your local drugstore or at Sephora or Ulta.   So, let’s get on with it, shall we?

St. Ives Blemish Control Apricot Scrub.

stives.ca

I love this stuff!!!    It’s gentle enough to use every day,  and it’s perfect for the harsh winters we have in the Northeast.   I use it before blemishes start or when they have already appeared.  It literally takes a couple of uses for the blemishes to disappear.   It’s great for sloughing off dead, dry skin as well.  It’s my go to product and I  use it all over. Especially in the shower.  Perfection.   $3.99.

stives.ca

St Ives Smooth & Nourished Oatmeal Scrub and Mask – Notice a pattern?   I really dig St. Ives. I’m not even going to lie about it.   This formula can be used either as a scrub or as a mask.   I primarily use  it as a mask and my face feels is so soft and firm  afterwards.  $2.99

stives.ca

St. Ives  Timeless Skin Mineral Clay Mask –  Who else sits home on a Friday night and puts on a mask on their face  for a little me time after a crazy work week?  **Raises Hand** This girl does!   I love to use this mask in the summer months since my skin is prone to breakouts in warm weather.  Let me tell you, it’s great.  It deep cleans and unclogs pores quite well.  You apply this in a thin layer and leave it on for about 15-20 min and your skin feels amazing.  By the way, you can’t buy this at the stores anymore. But, you can purchase it in a 2 pack at amazon.com  (although, I see at the time of this writing, it’s out of stock! 😦 )

olay.com

Oil Of Olay Active Hydrating Beauty Fluid .   I love a lot of the Olay products, but it’s the one in the classic pink bottle that is my tried and true.   The minute, I wash my face,  I slather this on and it’s as if my skin has had a tall, glass of water.   $8.49

josiemarancosmetics.com

Josie Maran Whipped Argan Oil Body Butter – My love affair of all things Josie began when I decided to try a travel size version of her Whipped Argan Oil Body Butter  for my trip to Florida.   I have been obsessed with her products ever since.   The Oils come in many scents. I personally love the jasmine and the vanilla the most.    Your skin feels amazing and you don’t have to re-apply later on during the day if you skin gets dry, because.  simply put,  your skin doesn’t dry out.   $12 for the small size at sephora.com.

sallyhansen.com

Sally Hansen Insta Dry Nail Polish– If you are in a pinch and in between nail appointments, give yourself a quick manicure with these fun shades.  This is a pretty pink version and no lie, I bought it for  $3 at Target.  Put on your base,  polish, top coat and your hands look like a million bucks and the polish dries fast!

dove.com

Dove Body Wash – Here comes the probably my most favorite part of my routine.   I have pretty sensitive skin.  So much so that the only soap my dermatologist recommended is Dove products. Literally, every other soap and body wash after a couple of washes, breaks me out.   Lately, I’m addicted to their luxurious body wash formulas. They are so rich and hydrating on your skin.   It’s like a daily trip to the spa.  My favorites currently are the shea butter/vanilla and the peony formula.  It’s a great way to  either start your day off right or wind down feeling amazing and relaxed.   $5.49

 

cleanperfume.com

Clean -Skin Perfume – Hi, my name is Shell and I’m a perfume addict.   Well, let me rephrase that.  I love fresh, clean scents!    All of them!   A couple of years ago in one of my sephora.com hauls,  I got a sample of this perfume and I’ve been hooked ever since on their entire line!  Skin, is my all time favorite.  It’s cozy, warm and has a light scent.  I wear it pretty regularly. It’s available in full-size or if you want to give it a go,  try out the roller ball size . $20.

Tresemme  Thermal Creations Heat Tamer Spray  If you use a lot of heat on your hair,  you definitely should use a heat protectant to prevent your hair from damage.  One of my favorites is Tresemme. It’s not expensive. I think I paid $5 for it at my supermarket last week. It not only protects your hair, but smells great too!  Just spray  it evenly throughout your hair prior to straightening or curling it.   A little of this goes a long way.

amazon.com

Conair Xtreme Jumbo Hot Rollers – Okay,  I know what you are thinking.  Hot rollers are so 80’s.   But hear me out,  these particular rollers give you a beach wave look.   Hot rollers also don’t damage your hair from the heat. They, in fact don’t use a lot of heat so that helps your hair in the long run.   One other thing about Hot Rollers,  while they are in your hair,  you can do other things. For example, you can put on makeup, get ready for work or school,  eat breakfast.   By the time, they have cooled,  (which is usually 15-30 min depending on the length and thickness of  your hair) you are already set for the day.   $29.99

Tell me, what are some of your favorite things?

 

Save

Posted by

I'm a freelance journalist who has covered a number of topics including celebrity news, pets, food and pop culture. I currently cover entertainment news for Talk Nerdy With Us and various topics for 2 Palms Media under their Hot Pop Titles!

Leave a Reply

